Women in Horror: Recommended Short Stories (Part 1)

To continue with the celebration of women in horror, I’m going to post a few of my favorite short horror stories by women. Please take no offense if your favorite author is not on this list, I’m actually working on a much larger list to be posted at a later date. For now, here are my first two recommendations.

“The Yellow Wallpaper” by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Read it here. I don’t know when I first read this story — sometime in my late teens, I think — but I fell in love with it immediately. This is one of the few weird stories that the general public might be familiar with (besides Poe, or maybe Lovecraft) because it is assigned reading in many higher-education classes. It’s an important work of 19th century feminist literature and maybe the first instance of feminist writing in the weird genre. (Do feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.)

“A Redress for Andromeda” by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Sadly, this one isn’t available to read online, but that shouldn’t stop you from seeking it out. It can be read in The Weird: A Compendium of Strange and Dark Stories, a fantastic tome that everyone should already have on their shelf. “Redress” exemplifies everything I love about Caitlin’s writing. I would say more but Desirina Boskovich has already said everything there is to say, and so much more eloquently than I could.

Now go do your reading, friends. Expect a couple more short story recommendations each day until the end of the month.

Don’t forget, there’s still time to win a copy of Damien Angelica Walters’ debut novel, Ink.

Leave a Reply

