Occasionally, I Read Short Stories: The Latter Half of 2013

Here is the second part of the best short stories I’ve read this year (though they were not all necessarily published this year). And in case you missed it, here is the first half of my list from a few months back.

“Her Words Like Hunting Vixens Spring” by Brooke Bolander
“The Diane Arbus Suicide Portfolio” by Marc Laidlaw
“In the Greenwood” by Mari Ness
“The Beasts of the Earth, the Madness of Men” by Brooke Bolander
“The Ballad of Marisol Brook” by Sarah Grey

It would be impossible to put them in any kind of meaningful order, but if I had to pick an absolute favorite it would be Brooke Bolander’s “Her Words Like Hunting Vixens Spring”. That story stuck with me more than any other. Feel free to post a comment and tell me about your favorite short stories you read this year.

I can’t wait to discover what wonderful short stories next year will bring…

Leave a Reply

