Phoenix Comicon 2013

I apologize for the lack of updates. Last month was very busy and I’ve been focusing all my writing time on my novel.

A couple weeks ago I attended Phoenix Comicon. I only purchased a single-day pass (Saturday) and brought my family along. It was my first really big convention and I had a great time. Holy crap, it was busy though. Lots of great costumes and people watching opportunities. (Of course, I forgot my camera.)

Three very cool things happened:

1) I got books signed by John Scalzi and Cherie Priest, both whom I have admired for a long time. I spoke with Cherie for a few minutes and for that I am incredibly grateful. (I’m a big fan of her “Eden Moore” trilogy and am anxiously awaiting her next gothic/horror novel, Maplecroft.)

Leanna Renee Hieber happened to be sitting next to Cherie. At one point, a fan came up to Cherie for a signature, so I turned and started talking to Leanna. We talked for quite a while and she gave me some really solid advice. And now I have to go out and read some of her work. I’m always excited to discover a new author, especially if it involves meeting them in real life. Thanks to both Cherie and Leanna for the chat.

a) I really don’t understand people’s fascination with waiting in a long line and paying $20-$40 for an actor’s autograph. I didn’t wait in line, didn’t pay a thing, and the authors were incredibly gracious with their time.

2) I finally met Beth Cato (I interviewed her previously) in-person and she gave me a batch of the most delicious cookies I have ever had in my life! It was great to meet a local author whose work I admire. Sometimes Phoenix can seem like a writer wasteland.

3) In my continuing effort to put myself out there, I read my short story “Love in the Time of Cthulhu” in front of a couple authors (and an audience) and received some wonderful critiques. Getting more comfortable reading my work in front of an audience (and this was the largest so far) is proving to be quite fun.

I am already anxiously awaiting my next con.

P.S. I really will try to update more often. I have numerous blog posts in various stages of completion, but working on my novel is still the top priority.

Leave a Reply

