Fly My Pretty

I sent a new short story (“A House Divided”) out into the world this week. As an unpublished writer it’s always scary to let one of your babies leave home. Of course, about two minutes after I sent it I was informed of a minor but critical tense error. There’s just no winning, is there?

I’ve spent the week asking myself, “Did that little error kill my chances? Was it really ready for an editor’s eyes?” But those questions will drive a man mad faster than you can say, “Cthulhu fhtagn!”

At some point you have to trust your own voice. For us unpublished folk, that’s probably the hardest part of the process. I like to imagine that it gets easier as your work is published (validation!) but I’m not so sure that’s the case.

The good thing about all this fretting is that there’s an easy fix. Write!

And that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. (After giving myself a day off.) I picked up my pen and started writing anew. I’m 500 words into a new short story, in the process of rewriting an older short story, and I’ve added a few thousand words to my novel.

So I guess that makes me winning, right?

3 thoughts on “Fly My Pretty

  1. It happens to us all. It happened to me twice in this past week. First, I submitted one story but forgot to attach it to the e-mail. *Face-palm.* Then later on I was reading over a story I had already sent out and noticed a minor typo.

    I’m almost certain your tense error won’t land you in the rejection pile. And even if it does, no use fretting over it now.

    Onward and upward!

    • Thanks for the kind words Anthony. It’s been a week and a half and they haven’t rejected me yet so my hopes remain high.

      Regardless of what happens with that story, I’m preparing to kick a couple more stories out of the house.

      Onward and upward, indeed!

Leave a Reply

