It Was a Dark and Stormy Night

On February 13th, 2008 I wrote the opening line to a short story: “Greg drew the short straw.”

Over the last few years those 5 simple words turned into 50,000 and counting. Before I knew it, I was writing my first novel. It’s been a long road and I’ve gotten lost a few times but I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. There’s also a light at the other end of the tunnel. A deadline and it’s heading my way fast: My wife and I are expecting our second child this year. If I don’t finish by then, I will have yet another excuse as to why this novel has taken over three years to write, albeit a very cute and cuddly one.

So this is my plan. Finish the first draft of my novel by the end of July. That’s 5 full months to write approximately 40,000 new words and then rewrite the less savory ones. To keep myself in check I won’t shave my beard until the novel is done. (And because beards are awesome and writerly.)

This blog will follow my journey.

And for your link of the day (not guaranteed every day or any day): Watch as former-agent-turned-author Nathan Bransford critiques a page from one of his readers. Always good to see an example of cutting back superfluous prose.

Leave a Reply

