500 Days of Slacking

This is a formal reminder to myself to never say “I’ll try to blog once a week or so” because it will only lead to tears when “a week or so” becomes 500 days. Oops. (Of course you could have just followed my Twitter since that gets updated almost every day, save for weekends. It’s just easier when I only have to write 140 characters at a time.)

Let’s talk about the last 500 days and how I fared as a writer.

In 2012 I sent out nine stories to various markets. Ignoring form rejections, I received three personal rejections and two acceptances. I also had two stories published in October of that year:

If I recall correctly, those were both written in 2011 so they’re pretty old by now.

This year I’ve sent out three stories so far. I have a forthcoming story in Daily Science Fiction, another I can’t talk about yet, and one more still pending a response. I’ve also been writing like a fiend and will be sending out a slew of new short stories over the next few months.

I think that just about covers the stats for the last year and a half. I have a lot more to talk about but I’m saving that for another post.

Leave a Reply

